---
title: "Do I need a seller's permit to sell on eBay in Oklahoma?"
description: "The OTC says out-of-state marketplace-only sellers don't register; its pages don't address Oklahoma-based ones. Ongoing sellers need a $20 permit."
canonical: https://resellerindex.com/tax/sellers-permit/oklahoma/
last_updated: 2026-10-23
publisher: "The Reseller Index"
---

[Taxes](https://resellerindex.com/tax/) / [Seller's permits by state](https://resellerindex.com/tax/sellers-permit/) / Oklahoma

# Do I need a seller's permit to sell on eBay or Poshmark in Oklahoma?

The Oklahoma Tax Commission's pages don't separately address an Oklahoma-based seller who uses only marketplaces, beyond saying a permit is needed for selling goods on an ongoing basis and that the small seller exception doesn't apply to sellers with a physical presence; a remote seller that only sells through a marketplace whose facilitator collects the tax does not need to register. Selling direct on an ongoing basis (your own site, a flea market, from a shop) needs an Oklahoma sales tax permit from OkTAP; the state's business portal says the step costs $20 plus a handling fee.

Oklahoma calls it a sales tax permit, issued by the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

General information, not tax or legal advice. Check with a tax professional about your own situation.

Checked against the official pages listed below on Oct 23, 2026.

## Oklahoma in short

- **Sell only on marketplaces that collect the tax:**
  Not stated on the state's pages we checked
- **Also sell direct (own site, Facebook, flea market):**
  Yes: the state says to register; fee not stated as one figure (see below)
- **Resale certificate:**
  No set state form; the state lists what a certificate must show
- **Garage and occasional sales:**
  Not stated on the state's pages we checked
- **Where to register:**
  [OkTAP](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html)

## If you sell only on eBay, Poshmark and other marketplaces

The pages checked don't address an Oklahoma-based seller whose only sales are facilitated: the OTC says a permit is needed for anyone selling tangible personal property on an ongoing basis, that the small seller exception doesn't apply to sellers with a physical presence in Oklahoma, and that Wayfair didn't change the registration duties of sellers with a physical presence. A remote seller that only makes taxable sales into Oklahoma through a marketplace whose facilitator collects and remits the tax does not need to register; if the facilitator isn't collecting, the remote seller collects unless it meets the $100,000 small seller exception.

The rule: 68 O.S. § 1392; SB 513 (2019).

> "If you only make taxable sales into Oklahoma through a marketplace and the marketplace facilitator or referrer is collecting and remitting Oklahoma sales/use tax on your behalf, then you do not need to register and collect Oklahoma sales/use tax."

Oklahoma Tax Commission, [Wayfair Frequently Asked Questions (06/15/2020)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/resources/publications/streamlines-sales-tax/WayfairFAQs-06152020.pdf), I am a remote seller and only sell through a marketplace. Do I need to collect tax?

Oklahoma sales tax is levied at 4.5% of gross receipts from the sale or rental of tangible personal property and specific services, plus any county or municipal sales tax where the sale occurs or is delivered. A marketplace facilitator with at least $10,000 of Oklahoma sales in the prior 12 months must elect to collect or meet notice and reporting rules.

Sources: [Wayfair Frequently Asked Questions (06/15/2020)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/resources/publications/streamlines-sales-tax/WayfairFAQs-06152020.pdf); [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html); [Sales and Use Tax](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/businesses/sales-use-tax.html).

## If you also sell direct: your own site, Facebook, flea markets, consignment

A sales tax permit is needed if you are selling tangible personal property for consideration on an ongoing basis. A remote seller that also sells through its own website and other channels collects on those sales once its combined taxable Oklahoma sales exceed the $100,000 small seller exception; sales through a facilitator that collects for it are left out of that calculation.

- **Fee:**
  $20 plus a handling fee to register for a sales or use tax permit through the OTC application portal, according to the state's business licensing page.
- **Register:**
  [OkTAP](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html)

> "A sales tax permit is needed if you are selling tangible personal property for monetary or other consideration on an ongoing basis."

Oklahoma Tax Commission, [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html), Business Sales & Use Tax

Sources: [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html); [Wayfair Frequently Asked Questions (06/15/2020)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/resources/publications/streamlines-sales-tax/WayfairFAQs-06152020.pdf); [Licenses and Permits](https://oklahoma.gov/business/operate/licenses-and-permits.html).

## Resale certificate: buying inventory without paying sales tax

- **The form:**
  No set state form; the state lists what a certificate must show
- **Do you need your own permit to give one?**
  Yes: the state ties the certificate to the buyer's own permit or account number

Vendors can buy merchandise for resale tax-free with a sales tax permit. Under OTC rule 710:65-7-8 the seller keeps a copy of the purchaser's sales tax permit (or its name, address, permit number and expiration date, verified with the OTC), a statement that the articles are bought for resale, and the purchaser's signature; with a certification that all purchases are for resale, later purchases need no new certification until the permit expires.

Also accepted: The OTC says it allows the Multistate Tax Commission uniform resale certificate in place of a copy of the purchaser's sales tax permit, received within 90 days of the sale and accepted in good faith.

### Thrift stores, estate sales and yard sales

The state pages we checked don't say anything specific about using a resale certificate at a thrift store, estate sale or yard sale. A certificate is given to a seller who would otherwise charge you tax, so whether a particular store takes one is between you and that seller; ask before you buy.

> "Vendors can purchase merchandise for resale tax free with a sales tax permit."

Oklahoma Tax Commission, [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html), What can I buy tax-free with a business sales tax permit?

Sources: [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html); [Publication D, Oklahoma Sales Tax Vendor Responsibilities, Exempt Sales (Revised December 2025)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/forms/businesses/general/Publication-D.pdf).

## Garage sales, yard sales and other occasional sales

Not stated on the state's pages we checked. The OTC says no permit is issued or required for occasional sales, and that a report is filed only when sales are made, marked as a "casual" sale; the pages checked don't say whether occasional sales are taxed.

> "No permit is issued or required for occasional sales, file a report only when sales are made."

Oklahoma Tax Commission, [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html), Business Sales & Use Tax

Sources: [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html).

## Worked examples

### State tax on a $40 sale

At the 4.5% state rate, a $40 taxable sale carries $1.80 of Oklahoma sales tax, plus the county and city rates where delivery occurs; local rates are left out here.

### A remote seller with two channels

A seller outside Oklahoma has $150,000 of Oklahoma sales, $120,000 through marketplaces that collect for it and $30,000 through its own website. The OTC leaves the collected marketplace sales out of the threshold, so only $30,000 counts and the seller is under the $100,000 small seller exception.

### Buying a liquidation pallet for resale

An Oklahoma permit holder buys a $500 pallet from an Oklahoma wholesaler. Instead of an Oklahoma resale form, the wholesaler keeps a copy of the buyer's sales tax permit, a statement that the goods are for resale and the buyer's signature, or the MTC uniform certificate, as Publication D describes.

## Edge cases and details

- An Oklahoma sales tax permit is valid for buying for resale in Oklahoma only, the OTC says.
- A vendor that holds a current permit may buy a monthly-updated file of all sales tax permit holders for $150 a year using Form 13-98, Publication D says.
- The OTC says remote sellers lost the option to meet notice and reporting requirements instead of collecting on November 1, 2019.
- Semi-annual filing is allowed when the tax a vendor remits does not exceed $50 a month.

## What to do

1. Out of state and marketplace-only: confirm each marketplace collects Oklahoma tax; the OTC says a remote seller whose only taxable Oklahoma sales go through a marketplace that collects and remits the tax does not need to register.
2. Selling on an ongoing basis from Oklahoma: apply for a sales tax permit on OkTAP before your first sale.
3. Buying inventory: give suppliers a copy of your permit with a signed resale statement, or the MTC uniform certificate.
4. If you live in Oklahoma and sell only through marketplaces, or you are unsure whether your occasional sales are taxable, ask the OTC or a tax professional.

## Common questions

### Does Oklahoma have a resale certificate form?

Publication D describes documentation instead: a copy of the buyer's sales tax permit with a signed statement that the goods are for resale, or the Multistate Tax Commission uniform certificate in place of the permit copy.

### How much does an Oklahoma sales tax permit cost?

The state's business licensing page says registering for a sales or use tax permit through the OTC portal costs $20 plus a handling fee.

## Related

- [Seller's permits by state: marketplace-only sellers, resale certificates and garage sales on one table](https://resellerindex.com/tax/sellers-permit/)
- [Oklahoma: marketplace sales tax and 1099-K rules](https://resellerindex.com/tax/states/oklahoma/)
- [Ohio: do you need a seller's permit?](https://resellerindex.com/tax/sellers-permit/ohio/)
- [Oregon: do you need a seller's permit?](https://resellerindex.com/tax/sellers-permit/oregon/)
- [Form 1099-K for resellers: the federal test](https://resellerindex.com/guides/1099-k-for-resellers/)
- [Do eBay's fees apply to the sales tax a buyer pays?](https://resellerindex.com/guides/ebay-fees-on-sales-tax/)
- [Where each selling app keeps its sales report](https://resellerindex.com/guides/sales-reports-for-taxes/)

## General information, not tax or legal advice

This page summarizes Oklahoma's own published pages, rules and statutes as read on Oct 23, 2026. It doesn't say whether you must register, what you should file or whether you owe tax: that turns on your own sales, where you sell and what you buy. Rules change. Check with a tax professional, or ask the Oklahoma Tax Commission directly.

## Sources

Official pages this page is built from, with the day each was read.

- Oklahoma Tax Commission: [Wayfair Frequently Asked Questions (06/15/2020)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/resources/publications/streamlines-sales-tax/WayfairFAQs-06152020.pdf), dated Jun 15, 2020; read Oct 23, 2026. Marketplace-only remote sellers don't register; $100,000 small seller exception; threshold calculation.
- Oklahoma Tax Commission: [Help Center: Businesses](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/helpcenter/businesses.html); read Oct 23, 2026. Permit needed for ongoing sales; OkTAP; occasional sales; resale with permit; facilitator $10,000 election.
- Oklahoma Tax Commission: [Sales and Use Tax](https://oklahoma.gov/tax/businesses/sales-use-tax.html); read Oct 23, 2026. 4.5% state rate and local taxes.
- Oklahoma Tax Commission: [Publication D, Oklahoma Sales Tax Vendor Responsibilities, Exempt Sales (Revised December 2025)](https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/tax/documents/forms/businesses/general/Publication-D.pdf); read Oct 23, 2026. OAC 710:65-7-8 resale documentation; MTC certificate; permit holder list.
- State of Oklahoma: [Licenses and Permits](https://oklahoma.gov/business/operate/licenses-and-permits.html); read Oct 23, 2026. Sales or use tax permit costs $20 plus a handling fee.

Subscribe: https://resellerindex.com/subscribe/

---

The Reseller Index

Researched and drafted with AI assistance from each platform's and carrier's own published pages. A full-time reseller runs The Reseller Index and will edit every newsletter issue once the newsletter starts. Every number links to its source and carries the date we checked it. Spot an error? [Tell us](https://resellerindex.com/corrections/) and we'll fix it in the public corrections log.

General information, not tax, legal or financial advice. Not affiliated with or endorsed by eBay, Amazon, Mercari, Poshmark, Depop, Whatnot, Etsy, TikTok Shop, USPS, the IRS or the software companies whose prices we track; their names belong to them.

Each page shows the date its own rates were last checked. Sponsored placements are always labeled "Sponsored".

© 2026 The Reseller Index. No trackers, no ad cookies.
