Free data feeds: selling fees, USPS prices and changes
The numbers behind our calculators and change tracker, as files you can pull into a spreadsheet or an app: seller fees on 8 platforms, USPS Media Mail and Ground Advantage prices, and 56 dated changes. Free under CC BY 4.0; credit us with a link.
Rates verified on
The feeds
| Feed | What's in it | Files |
|---|---|---|
| Selling fees by platform | US seller fees on 8 platforms (eBay, Mercari, Poshmark, Depop, Whatnot, Etsy, Amazon (media, you ship) and TikTok Shop): each percentage and dollar fee, the band of the sale it covers, other fees in words, the platform page each number comes from, and the date we checked it. |
|
| USPS Media Mail and Ground Advantage prices | Media Mail for 1-70 lb, and Ground Advantage commercial and retail by weight and zone (Zones 1-9), from USPS Notice 123 effective Oct 4, 2026. The JSON adds Media Mail price history across 5 editions of the notice. |
|
| Change tracker | 56 dated fee, postage, policy and tax changes for US resellers, newest first, each with its official source and, for 23 of them, the dollar effect on a $10, $25 and $50 sale. |
|
| USPS Media Mail price history | Every confirmed USPS Media Mail retail price for 1-10 lb since May 11, 2009, one row per price period with its effective dates and the USPS Notice 123 edition it comes from. 2012 is a documented gap (only a draft price list is archived). Chart and table: /history/media-mail/. |
|
| USPS retail package price history | USPS retail prices since Jan 4, 2010 for an 8 oz package (First-Class Mail parcels, then First-Class Package Service, now Ground Advantage), a 15.999 oz Ground Advantage package, and 1 lb and 5 lb Priority Mail, Zone 4. One row per price period; temporary holiday and time-limited prices are marked, and 2012 is a documented gap. Chart and tables: /history/usps-packages/. |
|
The original sources are the platforms' own fee pages and USPS's Notice 123; every fee and price row links the official page its number is on, and every tracker entry links the official source it was checked against, so you can check them yourself.
Use them in Google Sheets
Paste one formula into an empty cell (A1 of a new tab works best). Google Sheets' IMPORTDATA function fetches the CSV into your sheet. Keep the full address, with https://, inside the quotes.
Google Sheets formulas
=IMPORTDATA("https://resellerindex.com/data/fees.csv")
=IMPORTDATA("https://resellerindex.com/data/usps-rates.csv")
=IMPORTDATA("https://resellerindex.com/data/changes.csv")
=IMPORTDATA("https://resellerindex.com/data/history/media-mail.csv")
=IMPORTDATA("https://resellerindex.com/data/history/usps-packages.csv") Then filter or look up what you need: for example, filter the fees sheet's platform column to ebay, or the USPS sheet to Media Mail. Rates are fractions (0.136 means 13.6%), so format that column as a percentage if you like.
Use them in code
The files are plain static JSON and CSV. Each one is sent with Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *, so a page on any site can read it with fetch(). Each also has an ETag: browsers revalidate a cached copy with If-None-Match on their own and get a short 304 reply when nothing has changed. Scripts can read the ETag header and send If-None-Match themselves, from any site.
JavaScript
const res = await fetch('https://resellerindex.com/data/fees.json');
const { verified_on, platforms } = await res.json();
const ebay = platforms.find((p) => p.id === 'ebay');
console.log(ebay.headline, 'verified', verified_on); The first lines of /data/fees.csv
platform,platform_name,fee,label,rate,amount_usd,per,from_usd,up_to_usd,tiering,max_usd,optional,verified_on,source_url
ebay,eBay,final_value,"Final value fee: Most categories, up to $7,500",0.136,,,,7500,progressive,,,2026-10-14,https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/fees-credits-invoices/selling-fees?id=4822
ebay,eBay,final_value,"Final value fee: Most categories, over $7,500",0.0235,,,7500,,progressive,,,2026-10-14,https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/fees-credits-invoices/selling-fees?id=4822
ebay,eBay,final_value,"Final value fee: Books & Magazines, Movies & TV, Music (not vinyl records), up to $7,500",0.153,,,,7500,progressive,,,2026-10-14,https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/fees-credits-invoices/selling-fees?id=4822 CSV files are UTF-8, comma-separated, with a header row and double quotes around any field that holds a comma, quote or line break.
Fields
/data/fees.csv: one row per fee
| Column | Meaning |
|---|---|
| platform | platform key (ebay, mercari, poshmark, depop, whatnot, etsy, amazon, tiktok) |
| platform_name | platform name |
| fee | fee type: final_value, per_order, selling, commission, commission_tier, payment_processing, transaction, listing, offsite_ads, boost, referral, closing, plan |
| label | the fee in words, with the band or category it covers |
| rate | percentage fee as a fraction (0.136 = 13.6%); empty for dollar fees |
| amount_usd | dollar fee; empty for percentage fees |
| per | what a dollar fee is charged per: order, item, listing or month |
| from_usd | the band of the sale total this row covers starts here (empty = from $0) |
| up_to_usd | and ends here (empty = no upper limit); whether a band's edge amount is itself included is in the label: 'or less', 'up to' and 'and up' include it, 'under', 'over' and 'above' don't; for progressive bands it makes no difference |
| tiering | progressive (rate applies to the part of the total inside the band) or threshold (rate applies to the whole total) |
| max_usd | most this fee can be on one order (Etsy Offsite Ads) |
| optional | "yes" only for fees you pay if you choose them, such as Depop Boosted Listings; fees charged on only some sales, such as Etsy Offsite Ads, say so in the label and are not optional |
| verified_on | date we last checked the number against the source (YYYY-MM-DD) |
| source_url | the platform's own page this row's number is on (all of a platform's pages are in /data/fees.json source_urls) |
/data/fees.json: one record per platform
| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| id | platform key (ebay, mercari, poshmark, depop, whatnot, etsy, amazon, tiktok) |
| name | platform name |
| headline | the fee in one line |
| fee_base | what each percentage is charged on, in the platform's terms |
| rates | percentage fees: fee, label, rate (fraction: 0.136 = 13.6%), from_usd / up_to_usd (the band of the sale total it covers, null = no limit; whether a band's edge amount is itself included is in the label: 'or less', 'up to' and 'and up' include it, 'under', 'over' and 'above' don't; for progressive bands it makes no difference), tiering, max_usd (cap per order), optional (true only for fees you pay if you choose them, such as Depop Boosted Listings; fees charged on only some sales, such as Etsy Offsite Ads, say so in the label and are not optional), source_url (the page this number is on) |
| fixed_fees | dollar fees: fee, label, amount_usd, per (order, item, listing or month), from_usd / up_to_usd, optional, source_url |
| other_fees | other fees and rules, in words |
| source_urls | every platform page the numbers were read from |
| sources | the same pages, each with its title (title, url) |
| verified_on | date we last checked the numbers against those pages (YYYY-MM-DD) |
| calculator_url | our fee calculator for the platform |
| commission_tiers | Whatnot only: commission rate by category and four-week sales tier |
/data/usps-rates.csv: one row per price
| Column | Meaning |
|---|---|
| service | Media Mail or Ground Advantage |
| price_type | retail and commercial (Media Mail has one price), commercial (label platforms) or retail (Post Office counter and usps.com) |
| weight | weight step as USPS prints it: "4 oz" to "15.999 oz" and "1 lb" to "70 lb" |
| max_oz | the same weight step in ounces (a package up to this weight pays this price) |
| zone | Ground Advantage zone 1-9; empty for Media Mail, which has no zones |
| price_usd | postage in US dollars |
| effective | date the USPS Notice 123 edition these prices come from took effect |
| temporary_until | for temporary (holiday) prices: the date they end; empty otherwise |
| verified_on | date we last checked the prices against USPS (YYYY-MM-DD) |
| source_url | USPS Notice 123 on Postal Explorer |
/data/usps-rates.json holds the same three price tables as nested objects, plus the notice name, the holiday window and Media Mail price history; see the Media Mail and Ground Advantage pages for the tables in readable form.
/changes.json and /data/changes.csv: one entry per change
| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| id | permanent ID: effective (or announced) date, platform and a short slug |
| url | the entry's own page on this site |
| platform | usps, ebay, whatnot, amazon, mercari, poshmark, depop, etsy, tiktok or irs |
| category | fees, postage, policy, tax or tools |
| title | one-line headline |
| announced | date the platform or agency announced it (YYYY-MM-DD; empty if not stated) |
| effective | date it takes effect (YYYY-MM-DD; empty if not stated) |
| ends | end date, for temporary changes |
| summary | what changed, in our words |
| impact_10 | change in the seller's net on a $10 sale, in USD (negative = you keep less; empty = no per-sale fee effect) |
| impact_25 | the same on a $25 sale |
| impact_50 | the same on a $50 sale |
| impact_note | the basis for the three impact numbers |
| source_url | the official page we verified it against |
| source_name | that page's name |
| more_sources | other official pages (in the CSV: URLs separated by spaces) |
| verified_on | date we last checked the entry against its source (YYYY-MM-DD) |
How often they change
The feeds change when we verify a change, and we check the sources weekly: USPS, each platform's fee and help pages, and IRS news. When a number changes, we update the same data the calculators use, the site rebuilds, and every feed changes with it. There is no fixed release schedule, so check the verified_on date that comes with every record and row.
Browsers and tools may reuse a downloaded file for up to an hour. New changes also appear on the change tracker and in its RSS feed.
Credit: CC BY 4.0
You can use, share and adapt the feeds for any purpose, commercial included, under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0. The license asks three things: give appropriate credit, link to the license, and say if you changed anything.
A credit line that covers it, as text:
Data: The Reseller Index (resellerindex.com/data/), CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Verified Oct 14, 2026. Or as HTML:
<p>Data: <a href="https://resellerindex.com/data/">The Reseller Index</a>, <a href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/">CC BY 4.0</a>. Verified Oct 14, 2026.</p> In a spreadsheet, put the credit line in a cell next to the imported data. If you recalculate or edit the numbers, say so in the credit (for example, "adapted from The Reseller Index"). One request that isn't a license condition: keep the verified date with any number you quote, because fees and postage change often.
Need history, alerts or a license without the credit line? Tell us
Say what you'd use it for: older prices, an email or webhook when a fee changes, a field we don't publish, or terms without the credit line. A person reads every message. Index Pro would add same-day change alerts; tell us on the Pro page if you'd pay for it.
Where the numbers come from
Rates verified on from each official page below.
- eBay: Selling fees (US)
- Mercari: Fees on Mercari
- Mercari: FAQs about our new fee structure
- Poshmark: Fee Policy (v1.7, current, effective Nov 25, 2024)
- Depop: Seller fees and charges
- Depop: Boosted Listings
- Whatnot: Seller fees
- Whatnot: Reduced commission on high-value orders
- Etsy: What are the fees and taxes for selling on Etsy?
- Etsy: What are payment processing fees?
- Etsy: Does Etsy allow drop shipping or reselling?
- Etsy: Offsite Ads
- Amazon: Selling on Amazon fees (sell.amazon.com/pricing)
- TikTok Shop Academy: TikTok Shop Referral Fees in 2024 by Category (dated 10/08/2026)
- TikTok Shop Academy: 26Q4 Seller LIVE Auction Referral Fee Reduction Policy
- TikTok Shop Academy: US Smart Promotion Introduction / FAQ
- USPS Notice 123 (effective Oct 4, 2026)
Get the week's changes by email
The weekly Index: what changed in fees, postage and rules, with the announced and effective dates, and what it costs you on a $10, $25 and $50 sale. Free, one email every Thursday.